About Us

History of the hall:

The hall was built in 1910 by Mrs Anna Harvey in memory of her husband Richard who was the Vicar of Sarisbury Green. For many years it was the only hall in the village and most of the important local functions were held there. In its time the hall housed the village library, held Saturday cinema shows, had a resident District Nurse and provided a canteen for soldiers run by the local W.I.

More recently the 'Friends of Bursledon Village Hall' was established in 1998 when the hall was threatened with closure and in 2010 the 'Raise the Roof' campaign was created to repair the failing roof. By 2012 'Raise the Roof' had enough funds to complete the project and the hall was re-opened by the Mayor of Eastleigh in January 2013.

For a fuller version of the history of the Hall please click here

About Bursledon Village

Bursledon is a pretty village nestled on the banks of the River Hamble in Hampshire. The centre of this historic village is within a conservation area packed with quaint cottages and historic houses and buildings, these are surrounded by boatyards and pretty marinas. The village has a beautiful church, St Leonards, which dates back to the 12th century and is home to the riverside Jolly Sailor pub made famous by the BBC TV series 'Howards Way'.

Bursledon is famed for its heritage in 18th Century shipbuilding. One of the most famous ships to be constructed in Bursledon was HMS Elephant, launched in 1786, which carried Nelson to the battle of Copenhagen. Strawberry growing is also an important part of Bursledons history. Between 1879 and 1939 Bursledon Station would see many train movements transporting the first strawberries of the season to London and beyond.
Today Bursledon houses two heritage attractions. Bursledon windmill, a five story working flour mill built in 1814 and fully restored in 1991. Visitors can see how the mill makes stone-ground flour and learn about the history and the machinery. Also Bursledon Brickwork Industrial Museum is on the outskirts of the village and is the last steam driven brickworks in the country.
 
Directions

Take the M27 J8 exit following signs for Hamble. 

Continue for Hamble  at the slip road roundabout, then after 1/4 mile at the second roundabout take 1st exit to A27 & Bursledon. 

Continue 1/2 mile to top of  hill and turn Right into Long Lane signed Old Bursledon & Village Hall. 

The Hall is than 200 yards on your right. 

Parking is available on the road outside the Hall, or further along Long Lane in the lay-by outside the schools, or in the Great Down car park opposite the Infant School.
© Copyright 2017 Bursledon Village HallWeb Design By Toolkit Websites